SYMPTOMS

Genie Timeline (GTL) supports running only one continuous backup job to one location at a time. Users often encounter problems that may force them to uninstall and reinstall GTL or move to a different machine. This will result in GTL dropping the backup job configuration and starting a new job.

 

CAUSE

Uninstalling Genie Timeline (GTL) and install it again or move to a new machine.

 

RESOLUTION

This article will explain in detail a workaround that reroutes GTL back to an existing backup without having to start a new one.

These instructions are a bit advanced and may be hard to follow, so please contact the Technical Support Team at Genie9 if you encounter any problem.

 

A. Migrate the database and restore it to its original location

Timeline keeps all the information about your backed up files and folders in a database that is available on your backup destination inside the backup folder (_Genie Timeline folder), so you will need to rebuild that database by doing the following:

  1. Open the Genie Timeline Restore window. (Start → All programs → Genie9 → Genie Timeline Restore)
  2. Click the Restore from an older backup button at the lower right corner of the opened Advanced Restore window.
  3. Browse for your backup folder (_Genie Timeline) that represents the backup job which you want to connect to it. Do not go any deeper into that folder structure → OK.
  4. Timeline then should start re-building the database showing you the Building Restore Database box. It might pass very quickly if the database is small.
  5. When Timeline finishes building the database, close this window without restoring anything.

 

B. Create a dummy backup job

  1. Start Genie Timeline. (Start → All programs → Genie9 → Genie Timeline)
  2. Configure a dummy backup job to backup anything to the same drive that contains the previous backup (The one you want to connect to it). The purpose of creating this dummy backup job is to only configure some necessary files that are deleted at uninstall or when you move to a new machine.
  3. Once the backup starts, pause it.

 

C. Stop Genie Timeline Service

Press the Windows + R keys on your keyboard in order to open the Run dialog → Type services.msc and hit Enter → Refer to Genie Timeline ServiceStop.

 

D. Copy the built database (Built from step A above) from the backup destination to your Application Data folder

  1. Using your Windows Explorer, open the backup folder (_Genie Timeline) which you want to connect to it → Browse to the database you have just built from step A above. It has the name of Index.db.number.

  2. Copy the database (Index.db.number) from there and then paste it into your Timeline’s application data folder. You can open your Timeline’s application data folder by copying the following path into your Windows explorer address bar:
    %APPDATA%\Genie9\GenieTimeLine\Jobs\{F4298088-7F22-4808-98AC-50A36B17C7A9}\Data
  3. Once copied there, delete the Index.db file already in that location. Then rename the copied database to Index.db.

 

E. Change the configuration back to the old location

  1. Copy the following path and paste it into your Windows explorer address bar:
    %APPDATA%\Genie9\GenieTimeLine\Jobs\{F4298088-7F22-4808-98AC-50A36B17C7A9}
  2. Right-click the configurations.xml file there → Edit.

  3. Once opened for editing, refer to the Path line and type in the path of the old backup job that you want to connect to in the highlighted space.

 

F. Restart Genie Timeline Service

Press the Windows + R keys on your keyboard in order to open the Run dialog → Type services.msc and hit Enter → Refer to Genie Timeline ServiceStart.

 

G. Modify your Data Selections

Open Genie Timeline software → Manage BackupModify Data Selections → Select the data that was included in the original backup because restoring the database won’t show the selections in the GUI → Save.

 

APPLIES TO: All Genie Timeline editions.

 

Tagged: