Understanding Backup Sets and Purging

When the storage media is re-writable, and the user has the right folder privileges, Genie Backup Manager (GBM) can be set to delete old backup files created by the backup job, to save space. The way purging old backups works varies depending on the backup type used. Purging is not supported when Mirror Backup is […]

Read More

How to use Purging

Purging is deleting old backup sets from the backup media when this media is rewritable, and the user has the right folder privileges i.e. automatic deletion. Its main advantage is saving space and rotating backup types. You can enable the purging option for any backup job from the Settings page which is step 4 in the […]

Read More